Sunday 20
th June 2010
Morning of the ride and I'm very nervous, up at 5am to have me porridge and get me drinks, energy bar ready and put the bikes on the car. I have allowed two bottles for the bike which is 1250ml and one Go bar for the ride which I'm praying is correct, we will see. Pint of water before I leave as well, that should take me to about 10 miles until I need to use the ones on my bike.
Andrew turns up on time, being dropped off by his misses in a dashing pink dressing gown, cheers me up no ends.
Off we go, I decide to drive
.jpg)
to
Clapham as Lisa (wife) is already worried about getting to Brighton from C
lapham. The whole journey we see a couple of others going to the ride, we did see loads of people with 'Night Ride' bibs on though, really must find out what event that is?
We stop about 1 miles from C
lapham to sort the bikes and get ready and I'm already dying for a wee (this happens when I'm really nervous), Lisa takes a couple of pic's of then we set off to the start line. Riding across the common all I could think of is that they could have swept the paths as there is glass and all sorts on it, Andrew then thinks he has something stuck in his tyre, we stop and hope for the best, he hasn't thank god.
Now waiting at the 07:00 gate and it's only 06:30 and getting colder, lady comes by stamping the start cards and says it shouldn't be that long now. Time has come and we are off, not as busy as i thought, until we get round the corner, bugger there are hundreds of cyclists and I have no idea why I was surprised!
Getting out of London was a nightmare, stopping at all the round abouts and red lights, I look down at the
Garmin and we have done 6 miles in 45 minutes, my heart goes and I think this is going to be horrible if it's like this all the way but it started to clear after about 10 miles.
Whoever says that the London to Brighton is easy is a liar, there are 5+ hills and although you have the bonus of going down the other side it doesn't help the climb, some of the hills are steep but some are also very long and to be honest I don't know what's worse.
About 15 miles in we come to a complete stand still as someone has had an accident going down a hill, we are now gridlocked (see picture), we sit here for about 25 minutes and then we start to move off again, it takes about a mile to sort itself out and we are good again.
I come across five or six accidents and the St John's team looked as they have their jobs cut out of them. I think most of the accidents was people being to fast and not paying attention to other riders close to them, it is very important to allow others to get past if they need to otherwise you have people taking risks.
I lost Andrew for about an hour but even though he wasn't next to me I knew he believed I could finish this ride with no problems, even when we got to the top of some of the hills which I know wasn't a problem for him he said a few times 'well done mate', I was pleased he was there and I wouldn't have wanted to ride with anyone else.
For the rest of the ride it was good, a few flats and down hills but then I was approaching the dreaded
Ditchling Beacon which I have heard is a nightmare and will most likely have to walk up.
I was surprised and pleased that I could see Andrew in the distance waiting for me at about the 40 miles mark, as I passed I said 'had a nice rest' and his reply was 'to bloody long and you took your time', not the best thing to say for my efforts but it did make me laugh, as we was approaching
Ditchling Beacon I said that he should go on as I didn't feel I was going to be able to ride the hill and he reluctantly agreed, I only had to ride 4 miles on the other side to the finish.
Ditchling Beacon was a killer, seeing Andrew riding up this showed me that I should put so much more in my hill climbing. I didn't really manage to ride any of it, so I decided to walk up. Walking in cycling shoes isn't the best idea as I kept slipping so off comes the shoes and now I'm walking in my socks, as I get to the top there are hundreds of people on the floor resting but I thought I'd carry on and get to the finish line.
On the final 4 mile's it was really emotional as I started to think about my dad as it was fathers day after all and it could have been my son without a dad if I didn't change my life style, I found this to be a fantastic achievement for me to complete this with the problems I have had in the past but am overjoyed that I did.
On the final hill I did think it was funny that the speed camera was covered because as I passed I was going 45 mph, then I hit the straight into Brighton.
The last stretch was amazing, some how I had managed end up being the only one riding on the finishing straight and with everyone cheering the whole ride was worth it and seeing my wife waiting for me as well was amazing.
After getting my ticket stamped to say Finish and getting a well done kiss off the wife the first thing Andrew done was shake my hand and say well done, he will never know how much that meant and I my have forgiven him now for the event that we shall not mention
haha
Finished in 4:02
Thank you Lisa for taking me and Andrew and all the encouragement you gave.
Thanks Andrew for all your support and help
- Posted using
BlogPress from my
iPad